County Captain Ray Ledsham held his Captains day at Wrexham. Early morning rain cleared to leave a sunny afternoon which meant that all 36 pairs experienced good conditions, albeit with a blustery wind at times, for their round with tee times starting at 12:30 through 14:45.

The course was excellently presented and enjoyed by all players with many complimenting the green staff. County Captain acted as starter on the first tee.

Apart from the overall winners, who amassed 45 points, the competition was extremely close with 8 pairs finishing on 40 points just behind third place 41 and second 42 points.

A ball sweep was held on the back 9 with 6 two’s being recorded as follows with each pair receiving 6 balls.

Tony Brunyee & Cliff Jones (Wrexham)

Gwyn Jones & Ken Wright (Ruthin Pwllglas)

Ernie Williams & Bill Kelleher (Clays)

John Parry & Mike Shaw (Moss)

Luke Parry & Les Waddell (Moss)

Barry Mairs & Paul Griffiths (Clays)

The last 3 were not present at the presentation so Secretary has them to pass on.

The Captain then gave a speech firstly saying how proud he was to have been nominated as County Captain by his club. He also thanked all players who had turned out to support his day with particular reference to the tremendous support from Clays who provided more than a third of the field. He went on to wish Clays well for the future with the recent change of ownership. H also thanked all at Wrexham for their presentation of his day and then proceeded to present the main prizes with pleasingly all prize winners being present.

Nearest the pin (Captains prize) was won by Tony Brunyee (Wrexham)

As there were 4 prizes, 7 of the pairs recording 40 points just missed out as follows

Ernie Williams & Bill Kelleher (Clays) (21)

Jonathan Hood & Graham Davidson-Clarke (Clays) (20/14/8)

Paul Stephenson & Rob Brown (Clays) (20/14/7)

Tim Jones & Martin Davies (Wrexham) (20/13)

Gareth Davies & Alex Darlington (Clays) (19/13)

Andy Pugh & Jonathan Tym (Wrexham) (19/12)

Reg Peacock & Eric Howells (DGU) (18)

Fourth prize (£25 voucher each) went to Iwan Bonds & Ian Connell (Clays) with the best back 9 (22) of the pairs returning 40 points.

Third prize (£40 voucher each) went to Mark Williams & Graham Jones (Clays) with 41 points.

Second prize (£60 voucher each) went to Mike Clements & Howard Twine (Rhos-on-Sea) with 42 points.

Overall winners, receiving £80 vouchers each, were Tony Brunyee and Cliff Jones with 45 points. Tony delivered a brief speech thanking the Captain for the day and the green staff and catering for making it a great success.

Captain then closed the proceedings looking forward to a bright future for the DGU in 207 and beyond.

Clays beat Old Colwyn 7-1 at home on Sunday July 24th to complete a 100% record in the first division this year, and ensure that they become champions for the third year in a row.
Congratulations to all their team on this achievement.

Nigel Roxburgh (Denbigh) County Champion;    Daniel Lloyd (Wrexham) Youth Champion;

David Clayton (Denbigh) 6-16 Handicap Champion;    Philip McKevitt (Wrexham) 17-28 Handicap Champion

Congratulations to all the above 4 Champions from the Championships held @ Denbigh on July 10th 2016. Full report and results sheets available on the website under /competitions/results/championships @ - 

County Captains Day was held at Ruthin Pwllglas on Sunday July 19th with 33 pairs entering. A very enjoyable day was had by all on a well prepared course with the weather staying dry, although the wind was a bit unpredictable. There was a clear winning score of 43 points returned by Denbigh's Adam Houston and Mark Shaw who each received a £70 voucher for their excellent score.

There were then 4 scores of 41 points - 2 with a back 9 of 20 from Clays pair Tony Harcombe and Ron Roberts who pipped Abergele's Rob Stuart & Terry Chaplin with a better back 6 to get fourth place and a bottle of wine each. The other two pairs with 41 points and a back 9 of 21 were both recorded by Ruthin Pwllglas pairs with Mike Whear and Eddie Fitzimmons receiving a £50 voucher each for second place with a better back 6 than Nigel Roberts and John Wilson who finished third and each received a £30 voucher.

Go to top